Greek players dominate the WSOP Europe Tables

World Series of poker was not traditionally dominated by Greek players and European competition was 4ce328a500particularly difficult for players from this country.

2015 promises to be the year when they break the ice and participants already set personal records and reached important milestones.

The tournament takes place in Berlin and the main event has already started, with thousands of people finding it worthwhile to participate despite having to pay €10,000.

Well before the main event began, there were side tournament revolving mostly around the popular Texas hold ‘em game, but also presenting players to put their skill and luck to the test and Omaha poker tables. A couple of players have made deep runs in these competitions and among them were Greek participants, who scooped bracelet early on.


Pavlos Xanthopoulos and Makarios Avramidis were two of those who made history for their nation and is part of their counterparts to persevere and press on for Meadows.

Georgios Sotiropoulos is the latest to join this elite group of players and he also received a lot of money as a result of winning the corresponding tournament. The fact that nobody from Greece managed to win a bracelet before and in 2015 so many of them came out firing on all cylinders is inspiring an impressive on many levels. He had to compete with tough opponents, particularly when he reached the final table, which was populated by poker professionals.

One by one the succumbed under pressure and among those who had no chance but to bow out gracefully from the competition were Brian Hastings, John Racener and Byron Kaverman. They have won plenty of tournaments over the course of their illustrious careers and were particularly good at defeating opponents over the Internet.

This makes it even more impressive that Georgios Sotiropoulos outshined all of them to win the coveted bracelet and a six digit amount.

This is how the final table look like after the last hand of the tournament was dealt:


1 Georgios Sotiropoulos Greece €112,133
2 Paul Tedeschi France €69,361
3 Andre Lommel Luxembourg €50,719
4 Benjamin Zamani United States €37,636
5 Rafal Tomczak Poland €28,318
6 John Racener United States €21,600
7 Brian Hastings United States €16,703
8 Byron Kaverman United States €13,094
9 Asher Conniff United States €10,402